21st Will Rogers Award Winners


This is a link to some of the photos Melissa Arnold took at the 21st Annual Awards.  If you want to use one, there is also a link to her email and website.  Thank you Melissa. As we get other photos, we will put them up along with the links.

Texas Red Photography




Steven Jeffers Photography:


Steven Jeffers Photography-07316 Steven Jeffers Photography-07429 Steven Jeffers Photography-07590-5
1-Mary Kaye 2-Kenny Sears 3-Rex Allen, Jr.

The Academy of Western Artists is proud to announce the following selections for 2016
Radio Station-KOOP, Austin, TX
Disc Jockey-Woody Adkins, KOPN, Columbia, MO
Buck Ramsey Cowboy Poet-Gary Robertson
Buck Ramsey Cowgirl Poet-Sandy Seaton Sallee
Elmer Kelton Book-Glen Sample Ely “The Texas Frontier And The Butterfield Overland Mail, 1858-1861
Engraver-John Mincer
Spur/Bitmaker-Gary Wiggins
Master Leather Artisan- Bill Gomer
Bootmaker-Lee Miller
Cartoonist- Lex Graham
Artist-Carrie Ballantyne
Saddlemaker-Bob Klenda
Braider-Billy Albin
Garnet Brooks Chuckwagon-Homer Robertson
Don King Saddlemaker Award-Chuck Stormes
Lifetime Achievement-Ray Odom
Memorial Tribute-Larry Scott
Pure Country Male-Artie Rodriguez
Pure Country Female-Lisa Layne
Pure Country Duo/Group-Jeff Woolsey and the Dancehall Kings
Pure Country-Album-Tommy Hooker “It Should Be Easier Now”
Pure Country-Song-Lorraine Chavana “Texas Honky Tonk
Western Swing Male-Greg Gibbs
Western Swing-Female-Katie Glassman
Western Swing Duo/Group-Jason Roberts Band
Western Swing Album-Timejumpers “Kid Sister
Western Swing Song-Paul Schlesinger “You Were Meant To Ruin My Dreams”
Western Music Male-Rex Allen Jr.
Western Music Female-Mikki Daniel
Western Music Duo/Group-Munsick Boys
Western Music Album-Ron Christopher “Into The West”
Western Music Song-Mary Kaye “Grit Grace And Bailin’ Twine
Young Artist- Leddy Bragg
Instrumentalist-Mike Sweeney
Appreciation Award-JB Taylor
Distinguished Service Award-Don Reeves
Living Legend Award-Roy Clark